alumni awards event
Our 2017 Honorees alumni awardees

Barbara Rush ’48,
Golden Globe-winning actress who appeared on stage in film and television and starred with such leading men as Paul Newman, James Mason and Dean Martin.

Nick Swinmurn ’96,
Entrepreneur and Founder of Zappos, an online clothing retailer that revolutionized the industry before being acquired by Amazon.

Thomas Harriman,
UC Santa Barbara Foundation Trustee, visionary and philanthropic leader in the UCSB Brain Initiative and neuroscience research..

Don and Kathleen (McCarthy ’87) Scott,
Philanthropists, have long volunteered their time and their home to host international graduate students and eased their transition to the UCSB community.

Awards Information

Since 1960 the UCSB Alumni Association has presented awards of achievement and recognition to outstanding alumni and friends of UCSB.

Approximately one year prior to the ceremony the selection process for nominees begins. Awards are presented at a ceremony in the spring. Letters requesting nominations for the Distinguished Alumni Lifetime Achievement Award, Honorary Alumni, and Graver Alumni Service Award are sent to current members of the UC Santa Barbara Alumni BOD, Valhalla, past award recipients, members of The UCSB Foundation, UCSB Deans and Department Heads and UCSB administrators. The opportunity for all alumni to nominate candidates is printed in Coastlines and also by clicking on the link to the nomination form.

The number of recipients of the various awards varies from year to year depending on the pool of candidates and other circumstances.


UC Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA 93106
Your Privacy

Contact Us:
Mosher Alumni House
University of California Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-1120

Telephone 805-893-2288
Fax: 805-893-4918

Maps and Directions
Terms of Use Privacy Policy Site Map

Copyright © 2018 | The Regents of the University of California | All Rights Reserved | UC Santa Barbara, Alumni Affairs